Our Board

Congregation Leadership


The City Congregation is managed by members who are elected by the community to two-year terms. The board meets once a month and any congregation member who would like to attend a meeting or bring an issue before the board is invited to email us for more information.

Executive Board

President: Ellen Weiman, public relations consultant
Secretary: Susan Ryan, tour guide
Treasurer: Trudy Elins, project manager

Board Members

Howard Alper
Isabel Kaplan, psychologist
David Klein
Sybil Maimin, writer and sculptress
Carole Mehlman
Mike Otterman, real estate management
Marty Shore, tour guide
Carol Sternhell, NYU professor
Jean Weille
Michael Witkin, real estate management
Dan Wyman, rare book dealer 

Committee Chairs

Adult Perspectives: Helene Lauffer
Publicity/Advertising/Marketing: Michael Witkin and Sybil Maimin
Bar/Bat Mitzvah: Isabel Kaplan
Communications: Devera Witkin
Development: Ellen Weiman
Finance: Ellen Weiman
High Holidays and Passover: Paula and Middy Streeter
KidSchool: Ben Lieman
Policies/Procedures: Sandy Farber
Rabbi Liaison: Sandy Farber and Ellen Weiman
Shabbat: Shirley Ranz
Social Action: Jean Weille

Liaison to Society for Humanistic Judaism:  Susan Ryan
KidSchool Administrator: Susan Ryan

High Holiday song leader: Anne Shonbrun